Past Sabbatical Award Recipients

The site maintains a list of recent past sabbatical awards. Beginning with the 2020-2021 Master Agreement, the FRC will also include a brief description of sabbatical recipients.

Academic Year 2023 - 2024		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Tim Compton Dr. Compton will finish the rough draft of a booklength manuscript entitled "Mexico In Its Theatre" based on over 500+ plays Dr. Compton has attended.	Languages, Literatures, and International Studies	
Dr. Patricia Killelea Dr. Killelea will work on her project, "Agate Hooves & Birch Light: Videopoetry & Poetics", a collection of poetry films and critical essays about interspecies relationships and environmental issues in the Great Lakes region	English	
Dr. Nelly Kupper Dr. Kupper will conduct research that will lead to the publication of a book, and interdisciplinary study combining mythology, neuroscience, and modern literature to explore what narrative would look like in cases of absence of memory that is either suppressed or inaccessible, due to brain trauma or pathology.	Languages, Literatures, and International Studies	
Prof. Christine Lenzen Dr. Lenzen will work on a series of photographs that expand on her series entitled "As long as I'm aliveI am living".	Art & Design	
Dr. Russell Prather Dr. Prather will research virtual reality (VR) and to learn how to use VR software, as well as earn certifications.	English	
Academic Year 2022 - 2023		

Recipient	Department or College
Dr. Gabriel Brahm Dr. Brahm will complete a book manuscript titled "The New Blank Slate: How Gender Studies and Critical Race Theory Corrupt Higher Education, Poison Everything, and Put Our Nation as Risk".	English
Dr. Robert Goodrich Dr. Goodrich plans to complete a manuscript with UNC Press related to the collapse of the German Weimar Republic, 1929-1932.	History
Dr. Brent Graves Dr. Graves will research the upper administration of higher education institutions.	Biology
Dr. Marek Haltof Dr. Haltof will be completing two book projects, "Screen as Battlefield: Confronting the Past in New Polish Cinema" and "The Past is Never Dead: Contested Memories in New Central European Cinema".	English
Prof. Steven Leuthold Professor Leuthold will be working on a study titled "Structural and Philosophical Relationships in the Art of India".	Art & Design
Dr. Rachel May Dr. May will be working on a book of nonfiction which interweaves biographical and historical research about three women scientists, a mother and her daughters.	English
Prof. Monica McFawn Robinson Professor McFawn Robinson will be working on a picture book about visual disability and neurodiversity titled "The Treasure Room".	English
Prof. Gabrielle McNally Professor Gabrielle McNally will be working on the grant writing and production of her film "NOS DISPARUS" (Our Missing).	Art & Design

Dr. Jacqueline Medina Dr. Medina will be earning various certifications in connection to health and wellness, outdoor guiding, and the outdoor industry. She is also working on a diversity, equity, and inclusion program in relation to her field of study.	Health & Human Performance	
Dr. Sarah Mittlefehldt Dr. Mittlefehldt will work on the completion of two manuscripts and one external grant application. Topics include the history of wood energy, and the intersection of forest, energy, and environmental policy.	Earth, Environmental, and Geographical Studies	
Academic Year 2020 - 202	21	
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Jon Billman Dr. Billman plans to complete the process of compiling and annotating the research necessary to produce a book-length work of creative nonfiction investigating the disappearance of a United States Air Force Jet in Lake Superior.	English	
Dr. Sarah Jones Dr. Jones plans to study the Philosophy of Alternative and Complementary Medicine.	Philosophy	
Dr. Caroline Krzakowski Dr. Krzakowski will complete a book manuscript titled "Cultivating the Nation: Gardens and Empire in British Literature 1900-1950".	English	
Prof. Michael Letts Professor Letts will create a series of paintings for a solo art exhibit, "Closer to the Wild" at the Duluth Art Institute.	Art & Design	
Prof. Dale Wedig Professor Wedig has been granted a professional development sabbatical to advance his skill and knowledge of the lost art of hand forming copper	Art & Design	

sheet metal.

Dr. Zhang plans to study the copositive and completely positive cones, which in turn will help him enhance his research in copositive and completely positive optimization.

Mathematics & Computer Science

Academic Year 2019 - 2020

Recipient	Department or College
Dr. Dwight Brady	Communication & Performance Studies
Dr. Michael Crum	College of Business
Dr. Christi Edge	Education
Dr. Kurt Galbreath	Biology
Prof. Steven Hughes	Art & Design
Prof. Brian Kakas	Art & Design
Dr. Josh Sharp	Biology

Academic Year 2018 - 2019

Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Scott Drum	Health & Human Performance	
Prof. Keith Ellis	Art & Design	
Prof. Matthew Frank	English	
Prof. Jim McCommons	English	
Prof. Peter Pless	Art & Design	
Dr. Martin Reinhardt	Native American Studies	
Dr. William Tireman	Physics	
Dr. Bao Truong	Math & Computer Science	

Academic Year 2017 - 2018		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Antony Aumann	Philosophy	
Dr. Neil Cumberlidge	Biology	
Dr. Kia Richmond	English	
Dr. Jaspal Singh	English	
Dr. Mounia Ziat	Psychology	
Academic Year 2016 - 2017		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Zac Cogley	Philosophy	
Dr. Gabe Logan	History	
Dr. Elizabeth Monske	English	
Dr. Eric Ottem	Biology	
Dr. Alex Ruuska	Sociology/Anthropology	
Dr. Robert Whalen	English	
Academic Year 2015 - 2016		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Charles Ganzert	CAMS	
Dr. Amy Hamilton	English	
Dr. Lesley Larkin	English	
Dr. Robert Legg	EEGS	

Dr. Adam Prus	Psychology	
Dr. Mac Strand	Biology	
Dr. Katherine Teeter	Biology	
Academic Year 2014 - 2015		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Gabriel Brahm	English	
Dr. Terry Delpier	Nursing	
Dr. Mollie Freier	AIS	
Dr. Marek Haltoff	English	
Dr. Patricia Hogan	Health & Human Performance	
Dr. Steven Leuthold	Art & Design	
Dr. Judith Puncochar	Education	
Academic Year 2013 - 2014		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Patricia Cianciolo	Sociology	
Dr. Sarah Jones	Philosophy	
Dr. Nelly Kupper	MLL	
Dr. Michael Luokinen	Sociology	
Prof. Marcus Robyns	AIS	
Dr. Neil Russell	Physics	
Dr. Mark Shevy	CAMS	
Dr. James Strain	Music	

Dr. David Wood	English	
Academic Year 2012 - 2013		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. Donna Becker	Biology	
Dr. Sheri Giordana	Nursing	
Dr. Robbie Goodrich	History	
Dr. Jeffrey Horn	Math & Computer Science	
Dr. Randall Jensen	Health & Human Performance	
Dr. Keith Kendall	History	
Prof. Stephan Larson	Art & Design	
Dr. Lesley Putman Chemistry		
Academic Year 2011 - 2012		
Recipient	Department or College	
Dr. KC Holder	Education	
Dr. Mitchell Klett	Education	
Dr. Alec Lindsay	Biology	
Dr. Diane Sautter Cole	English	
Prof. Eileen Smit	Nursing	
Prof. John Smolens	English	
Prof. Cate Terwilliger	English	
Dr. Helen Wedin	Nursing	
Dr. Qinghong Zhang	Math & Computer Science	